search-massachusetts.com is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.


Massachusetts Drivers Education

Enrolling in a Massachusetts drivers education course can be beneficial to drivers of all ages. A drivers ed course must be completed by all high school students who wish to obtain a license. Drivers ed courses are offered by the Registry of Motor Vehicles through the public school system. Adult students may also opt to take a driver safety course and courses for adults are offered by a variety of private institutions. Students who enroll in MA driving classes are more likely to be safe drivers and avoid accidents. During driving lessons, students will learn about the rules of the road and basic safety practices. Driver classes can also be convenient, as many students find they are able to work around their personal schedule or take classes online. To learn more about enrolling in a driving course in Massachusetts, read the sections below.

Mandatory Drivers Ed in Massachusetts for Minors

You must take a Massachusetts drivers ed course if you are under the age of 18 and you wish to obtain your license at some point. Virtually all public high schools offer a teen driving course and students are required to pass the course to continue their learning at home if they wish to become proficient motorists. Drivers education covers topics such as:

  • Defensive driving.
  • Vehicle safety.
  • Traffic laws and regulations.
  • Violations and suspensions.
  • Maintaining a clean driving record.

Driving lessons are offered through the state and all students who are of legal driving age (16 in MA) may enroll in them. Taking an online driving course is not an option for minors, but all courses include both an in-class and on-the-road component. There is a small enrollment fee for all students.

Students enrolled in Massachusetts driver’s ed must complete at least 30 hours of in-class instruction. This instruction must cover various driving safety topics, as well as Massachusetts motor vehicle laws. The driving course must also offer behind-the-wheel instruction in which students are required to spend at least 18 hours practicing with a motor vehicle. At least 12 of these hours must consist of firsthand driving practice and the additional six must be spent observing another student during the course. After a teen driver course, students are expected to spend at least two hours practicing their driving skills with a licensed parent or guardian.

At-Home Drivers Education in Massachusetts

After completing drivers ed in Massachusetts, drivers under the age of 18 will be expected to continue their education at home with a licensed parent or guardian. This at-home teen driving course is known as the MA Parent Supervised Driving Program, which aims to encourage parents to get involved in the driving education of their child. A teen driving school can only provide students with so much information and practice, so by continuing their education at home with a parent, they can reduce the likelihood of having a crash or violating traffic laws once they become licensed drivers. The Massachusetts driver ed program also teaches parents how to manage their emotions during behind-the-wheel driving sessions and how to ensure their child learns necessary skills at the right pace.

Massachusetts Driving Lessons for Adults

Taking a driving safety course in Massachusetts can help you become a more skillful motorist, even if you are over the age of 18. Individuals who take driver safety courses are more likely to pass the Class D license test on the first try and they are less likely to have a serious accident. Your first time driving school will provide you with classroom and on-the-road instruction, as well as an instructor who will serve as your license sponsor. Professional driving courses are great for drivers who do not have a motor vehicle to practice with or access to public school classes. Schools offering driving classes provide students with vehicles to practice in and you may use your school vehicle to take the license examination.

Researching a first-time driving school in Massachusetts is always a good idea if you are considering enrolling. All professional drivers education schools in MA must be licensed by the Registry of Motor Vehicles and anyone who provides driving instruction to others must be licensed as well. To find a first-time driving school near you, visit the official RMV website and enter your geographic information.

Behind-the-Wheel Drivers Ed in Massachusetts

Whether enrolled in a Massachusetts drivers ed course or at a private driving school, students will be required to get behind-the-wheel driving experience. On-road experience is an important part of any driving course and students are usually paired with other drivers when they practice driving on the highway. On-road drivers education is imperative because it helps students learn about the following topics:

  • Backing up and turning
  • Using signals, changing lanes and yielding to other drivers
  • Driving in heavy traffic and adverse weather conditions
  • Differences between city and highway driving
  • Parking techniques

Some private schools may offer an online driving course in MA, but state laws still require students to visit a physical location to prepare for the road test. A driving safety course will give students the opportunity to apply what they learned in the classroom in a controlled environment.

Mandatory Adult Driving Classes in Massachusetts

Driver classes in Massachusetts may be required if your driving record accumulates three or more surchargeable events within a two-year period. This driver safety course, also known as the Massachusetts Driver Retraining Course must be completed if you want to avoid having your license suspended. If you are eligible for driver safety courses, then the RMV office will send you an information package in the mail, which will provide you with additional information about fees, locations and the course in general. During the MA driving safety course, motorists will learn how to avoid future violations by driving safely and adhering to traffic laws. To learn how to enroll in a driver’s safety course, eligible drivers should contact the National Safety Council or a local RMV office.

It might also interest you: